Plenary Session Prizes

Best Plenary Paper Awards (including a certificate and an attractive cash prize each) are presented to the best clinical and the best basic science paper presented at the annual meeting, as adjudged by a panel of judges. Certificates and prizes are also presented to all papers selected for the Plenary Session. Best Poster Prizes are presented to the four posters adjudged to be the best during the Poster Rounds.

Travel Fellowships

Travel fellowships are offered to delegates and students (DM, DNB, PhD, others) who have posters or oral presentations accepted during the meeting. Details regarding eligibility and how to apply for these awards are available from the Honorary Secretary General of the Association.


The association has threenamed orations every year, namely the Dr DV Datta Memorial Oration, the Dr SR Naik Memorial Oration and the Dr N Madangopalan Memorial Oration. Distinguished researchers in the field of Hepatology, selected by the Governing Council of the INASL, deliver these orations during the mid-term conference (held in association with Indian Society of Gastroenterology) and the annual meeting of the INASL, respectively.

Dr DV Datta Memorial Oration

Dr DV Datta (1934-1981)


Dr. Dharamvir Datta, in whose memory, this oration has been instituted was born on 31st May 1934. He graduated in Medicine from the G.R. Medical College, Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh in April 1958. He obtained his doctorate in Medicine (MD) from the Vikram University in 1961. He then went to England, where he worked as Assistant Lecturer in Medicine at the Royal Free Hospital, School of Medicine, UK, and pursued research at the University of London. He was awarded the degree of Doctor of Philosophy of that University in 1964. He then went to the United States of America and worked as Research Fellow at Harvard Medical School, Boston. He was selected as Assistant Professor of Experimental Medicine at Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research (PGIMER), Chandigarh and joined the Institute on 22 February 1967. In April 1969, he was selected as Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Institute. He was appointed as Associate Professor of Hepatic Diseases in August 1971. He was the founder Head of the Department of Hepatology at the Institute. His work in the Department received National and International recognition.
Within a short period of his joining the Institute Dr. Datta earned a name for himself as an eminent hepatologist, an excellent research worker and a devoted physician. With his qualities of head and heart, he endeared himself to his students and colleagues. Unfortunately, he was snatched away from us by the cruel hands of death on 13th May 1981 at the very young age of 47 years. In Dr. Datta’s death, the Institute lost a medical scientist who had already made a mark in the specialty at national and international levels.

Dr. Datta is survived by his wife and two sons. Dr. (Mrs.) Usha Datta, was Head of the Department of Immunopathology at this Institute. One of his sons Dr. Rakesh Datta, is a Major in the Army and has specialized in ENT. The other son Mr. Deepak Datta, is an Engineer has settled in Dallas, Texas, USA.

To perpetuate Dr. Datta’s memory, the Indian National Association for Study of the Liver (INASL) decided to institute an oration and invite an outstanding scientist to deliver the oration on a subject pertaining to the field of Hepatology.


The first Datta Memorial Oration was held in October 1982. Dr. G. N. Vyas, Professor of Laboratory Medicine at the University of California delivered the oration.
Such outstanding medical scientists delivered the subsequent orations -

Professor Shiela Sherlock, Professor of Medicine, the Royal Free Hospital, London.
• Professor Roger Williams, Consultant Physician and Director of Liver Research Unit at King’s College Hospital and Medical School, London.
Professor Barbara M Billing, Professor of Biochemistry applied to Medicine, the Royal Free Hospital, London.
Professor N. C. Nayak, Professor of Pathology, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi.
Professor L. M. Blendis, Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto, Canada
Professor B. N. Tandon, Head, Department of Gastroenterology, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi.
Professor Kunio Okuda, Professor Emeritus, First Department of Medicine, School of Medicine, Chiba University, Japan.
Professor Alex P Mewat, Pediatric Hepatology Unit King’s College Hospital, London
Professor D. A. Kelly, Liver Unit, Children’s Hospital Birmingham.
Professor Sanjeev Gupta, Albert Einstein College, Bronx, NY 10461,
Professor Georgina Vargani, Kings College, London.
Geoffrey C. Farrell, Storr Liver Unit, Department of Medicine, Westmead Hospital, Westmead, New South Wales, Australia
Professor Didier Lebrec, Director of Research, INSERM, Hospital Beaujon, Clichy, France.
2008: Paul Joseph Thuluvath, University of Maryland Medical System in Lutherville, MD; Baltimore, MD
2009: Prof. Jenny Heathcote, University of Torontao, Canada
2010: Prof. K. Rajender Reddy, Director of Hepatology, HUP, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA
2011: Prof. Dominique-Charles Valla, Hôpital Beaujon 100 boulevard du Général Leclerc 92110 Clichy France
2012: Prof. Claudio Tiribelli, University of Trieste, Italy
2013: Prof. Geoffrey Mark Dusheiko, Royal Free Hospital Centre For Hepatology Pond Str, Hampstead, London, United Kingdom NW3 2QG
2014 : Dr Jasmohan Bajaj, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, USA
2015: Dr Marc Ghamy, Staff ClinicianLDB, NIDDK, NIH, US

By invitation of outstanding medical scientist from all over the world.